Meet Our Board

Meet Our Staff and Advisors.

Pastors for NC Children is applying for our 501c3 Status, and on October 19, 2020 we named a Board of Directors who are charged with ensuring this ministry organization carries out its vision and mission and upholds the requirements of a Nonprofit organization. The Board can be reached by emailing

The Rev. Mary Elizabeth Hanchey

Board President

Mary Elizabeth graduated from law school at UNC, she represented appellate clients on North Carolina’s death row. Now an ordained minister in the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, Rev. Hanchey has served congregations throughout the Triangle. She was trained as a chaplain at Duke University Hospital. Most recently, she has served in a variety of pastoral and programmatic roles at Watts Street Baptist Church in Durham, and now is on staff at United Church of Chapel Hill. She is well-known in clergy circles throughout our state for her commitments to social justice and her organizing work. She and her spouse live in Durham with their three kids.

The Rev. Dr. Floyd Wicker, II

Vice President

Dr. Wicker serves as an Adjunct Professor at Shaw University. He was born and raised in Durham, North Carolina, and now resides in Fayetteville, NC with his spouse. Dr. Wicker is a proud graduate of Saint Augustine’s University in Raleigh, NC, where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Physical Education.  In June of 2006, he finished the requirements for the Master of Divinity degree from Shaw University Divinity School in Raleigh, NC. Dr. Wicker received his Doctor of Ministry in May 2018 from Hood Theological Seminary in Salisbury, NC. He is a member of the Fayetteville branch of the NAACP where he serves as Chaplain and the Chairperson of the Religious Affairs committee.

Dr. Drew Polly


Drew is a Reading and Elementary Education Professor in the Cato College of Education at UNC Charlotte. He is the Director of the Ph.D. Strand in Elementary Education and Elementary Math Graduate Certificate Programs. Drew and his spouse live in Charlotte and have two young children.

The Rev. Rebecca Hewitt-Newson

Recording Secretary

Rev. Rebecca Hewitt-Newson currently serves as Associate Minister for Family Life at Millbrook Baptist Church in Raleigh. She is a graduate of Wake Forest University School of Divinity and trained in hospital chaplaincy at Providence Holy Cross Medical Center in Mission Hills, California where she then served on staff for 3 years. Rebecca lives in Raleigh with her spouse, Ryan, and two young sons. 

The Rev. Rebecca Bean

Board Member

Rebecca Bean serves as a deacon at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Goldsboro. Ordained as a deacon in 2015, the focus of her diaconal ministry has been on public education and helping to support churches to support public schools. Rebecca earner her Bachelor’s Degree in Secondary Education, Mathematics and History from Peabody College at Vanderbilt University, and a Masters in Mathematics Education from Florida International University. She was a middle and high school math teacher for 11 years. Among her many projects, she helped to establish the Dillard Middle School Partnership Project, a partnership initially with St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church and Dillard Middle School, a high needs middle school near the church. The partnership has expanded to include St. Andrew’s and St. Francis Episcopal Church in Goldsboro. Rebecca resides in Goldsboro with her spouse, and their 10 year old daughter. 

The Rev. Michelle Bullock

Board Member

The Rev. Michelle Bullock serves as Rector at St. Peter’s by-the-Sea Episcopal Church in Swansboro, NC. She was born and raised in NC and FL and received her Bachelor’s in Elementary Education from Appalachian State University and her Masters of Divinity from Duke Divinity School. She’s previously served churches in NC and PA and served as Lower School Chaplain at The Episcopal Academy outside Philadelphia. She and her husband have two daughters in preschool and elementary school. 

The Rev. Dr. Joe Clifford

Board Member

Joe is the Senior Pastor at Myers Park Presbyterian Church in Charlotte, NC. He is a graduate of Auburn University in Economics, he was in banking before he earned is M.Div. from Columbia Theological Seminary. He earned his D.Min. in preaching at McCormick Theological Seminary. Previously he was Senior Pastor at First Presbyterian Church in Dallas, Texas, where he was involved in founding Pastors for Texas Children. Joe and his spouse live in Charlotte and have two grown children.

The Rev. Chalice Overy

Board Member

Chalice Overy is the Associate Pastor at Pullen Memorial Baptist Church in Raleigh, NC.  She holds a B.A. in Public Policy from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and a M.Div. from Duke Divinity School. Chalice makes her home in Durham, where she enjoys walking, swimming and listening to live music.

Ms. Hilda Regalado

Board Member

Hilda Regalado came to Winston-Salem, NC from Peru in 2005. She has spent over 20 years teaching elementary school in both Peru and North Carolina as a teacher and teacher assistant for English Language Learners, English, and Spanish programs. She has also worked in afterschool and tutoring programs, and served as the Latino Ministry Coordinator for the Moravian Church. She served alongside her husband who was a pastor for 35 years in Peru, and they have 5 grown children and 5 grandchildren.

Mr. David Rockefeller

Board Member

David is a member of Edenton Street UMC in Raleigh and is the former Capital District Lay Leader. He is currently the NC Conference Director for Congregations for Children and United Methodists Advocating For Public Schools (UMAPS). He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music education and advanced certificates in curriculum, instruction, and educational leadership. He served for 32 years in North Carolina public schools as a teacher, teacher assessor, assistant principal, principal, and curriculum director. He maintains an active schedule as a consultant and volunteer in public schools in the Raleigh area.

Class of 2021Class of 2022Class of 2023
Ladale BensonRebecca Hewitt-NewsonRebecca Bean
Joe CliffordChalice OveryMichelle Bullock
Josh OwensEleanor ShellMary Elizabeth Hanchey
Kendra PhillipsDavid RockefellerDrew Polly
Hilda RegaladoFloyd Wicker, II
Our 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Sign Up For More Information!

%d bloggers like this: